Storylines Children’s Literature Trust 2016 Notables Books announced


storylines logoThe Storylines Children’s Literature Trust is delighted to announce the 31 outstanding New Zealand children’s and teens’ books selected for its Notable Books listings for 2016.


The 2016 Notable Books (published during 2015) comprise

  •  4 Novels for Young Adults
  •  10 Children’s Novels
  •  10 Picture Books
  •  7 works of Non-fiction.

The list for 2016, for books published is 2015, can be read here. There are also two excellent visual posters, that can be downloaded for display purposes available as PDFs.

The 31 titles selected represent a mix of many of New Zealand’s well-established authors and a significant number of new authors and self-published books.

“The awards, given since 2000, are a respected yardstick for the best children’s books published in New Zealand each year, an invaluable guide for booksellers and buyers and much prized by authors and publishers,” says Gillian Wess, Storylines Executive Officer.

This annual list of Notable Books also ensures that children, parents/grandparents, teachers, librarians and the public are all made aware of the large range of high quality children’s and teens’ books being published in New Zealand.

The selection panel includes children’s and YA librarians, authors, illustrators, teachers and academics; several members have served as judges for the New Zealand Post Children’s Book Award (and under its previous sponsor AIM) and the LIANZA Book Awards.

The award certificates will be presented at the Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal Presentation and National Awards Day in Auckland on Sunday 3 April.

The Storylines Trust and Foundation together comprise New Zealand’s only national organisation working year-round specifically to promote children’s and young adult literature through an annual Festival in six regions, author awards, publications, advocacy and other activities.



Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.